The idea of organizing the nutritional scientists of Asia into a federation was explored during the First Asian Congress of Nutrition held in Hyderabad, India, in 1971. Federation of Asian Nutrition Societies (FANS) was formally organized during the Second Asian Congress held in Manila in 1973. Fourteen countries were the original signatories to the formation of the FANS, namely, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Lebanon, Nepal, New Guinea, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

FANS is envisaged to have a simple organization – practical and realistic to cope with the Asian development situation. It should hold regular Congresses, meetings and open communications among its members in the region.

The objectives of the FANS

  1. To foster international fellowship among nutrition scientists of the region and promote cooperative working arrangements particularly in the furtherance of nutrition research, training and action programs.
  2. To encourage the exchange of information and experiences in nutrition research, training and action programs among the member countries, particularly through the periodic holding of Asian Congress of Nutrition.
  3. To act as a liaison between the member countries and the International Union of Nutritional Sciences as well as the appropriate United Nations Agencies.


Executive Council of FANS 2015-2019


  • Prof Dr Teruo Miyazawa, Japan

Secretary General

  • Dr Hisanori Kato, Japan
  • Immediate Past President
  • Ms Pek Yee Chow, Singapore

President Elect

  • Prof Dr Hardinsyah, Indonesia

Honorary Council members

  • Prof Dr Aree Valyasevi, Thailand
  • Prof Dr Mohd Ismail Noor, Malaysia
  • Prof Dr Xiaoshu Chen, China
  • Dr Sook He Kim, Korea
  • Prof Dr C Gopalan, India
  • Dr Po-Chao Huang, Taiwan

Council Members

  • Dr E Siong Tee, Malaysia
  • Prof Dr Yuexin Yang, China
  • Prof Dr Hardinsyah, Indonesia
  • Ms Pauline Chan, Singapore
  • Prof Dr Ching-Jang Huang, Taiwan
  • Prof Dr Kraisid Tontisirin, Thailand


FANS Members

Number of regular members of FANS is 18 societies (Bangladesh, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Lebanon, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Mongolia).



FANS Website